Laemmle High

A long, long, long time ago I started a story. The idea was that one girl, reporter for the school newspaper, found out all her friends were either monsters, or turning into supernatural creatures. It was episodic in nature, a little like this story, and goofy, focusing on the horror and scifi elements of 1950s and 1960s movies. I didn’t touch it for a long time. I have a lot of old concepts that I let fall off the map, but at some point I returned to it and started to develop it again, and I changed some things. Still a little episodic, though it’s now connected by a larger arc, with some of the goofier elements removed or adjusted.

I shelved it again, since I was in school, and I was working on similar projects, and I ended up finishing my Victorian era love letter to the Universal Monsters, so I felt it was a little redundant. But I really love the story, and so I started working on it again. And now you can read it.

copy-of-laemmle-high

The small town of Whitby was a community built for scientists at the height of World War II, meant to house the smartest, brightest, and most extreme leaders in new sciences. Since the end of the war, the families have settled down and are now enjoying the town that was built for them, and the children of those scientists are growing up. Nothing in Whitby is what it seems, and several students are about to learn firsthand how strange it can be.

Starring

Beverly Jones………………………………………………………..high school reporter, friend to the undead

Merton Dewitt.……………………………………………………………..nerd, photographer, alien enthusiast

Marya Zalesk.…….………………………………………………a stranger in a strange land, also a vampire

Betty Isen…….….….………..prom queen, science fair winner three years running, dating Johnny

Johnny Maxwell………………………….….……quarterback, most popular kid at school, dating Betty

Shelley Rathbone…………………………………….….…….…..science fair runner up three years running

Chapter one of part one is currently up on Black Cat Fiction. A new chapter will go up monthly, so long as I have chapters to add. A far cry in aesthetic, tone, and ambition of Deadlands, but with the same love of monsters, ghoulies, and old fashioned horror.

Leave a Reply

